- news, features, articles and disease information for the fish industry


Future Policy Award 2012 Goes to Palau

01 October 2012

PALAU - The Republic of Palau is the winner of the Future Policy Award 2012. Palau received the Award in recognition of two outstanding marine policies (Protected Areas Network Act, initiated in 2003 and the Shark Haven Act from 2009).

The two Silver Awards went to the Philippines for the Tubbataha Reefs Natural Park Act (2010) and to Namibia for its Marine Resources Act (2000).

FAO was a member of the international jury which felt the three winning policies contribute most effectively to the sustainable management of the world’s oceans and coasts for the benefit of current and future generations.

The winners were announced at the United Nations Headquarters in New York where Mr Carl Lewis, FAO Goodwill Ambassador, was also on hand.

TheFishSite News Desk

Our Sponsors


Seasonal Picks

Webinar - Fishing for Knowledge: the aquaculture student perspective - 11 March 2015 at 2pm GMT

The Shrimp Book - 5m

Listen Now TheFishSite Sustainability and Fish Welfare Webinar